Services 2019

Click here for the 2018 Services

September 2019

Sunday 15th September 2019 – Morning

Theme: Lord’s Prayer 6 – For thine is the kingdom, the power, and the glory, For ever and ever. Amen.

Scripture Readings: 1 Chronicles 29: 10-20 and Acts 20: 7-12

Sunday 8th September 2019 – Morning

Theme: Thanksgiving and Dedication of Organisations

Scripture Readings: Deuteronomy 6: 4-8 and 1 Peter 1: 13-25

Sunday 1st September 2019 – Morning

Theme: Lord’s Prayer 5 – And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

Scripture Readings: Proverbs 8: 1-17 and Acts 20: 1

August 2019

Sunday 4th August 2019 – Morning

Theme: Lord’s Prayer 4 – And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.

Scripture Readings: Luke 24: 36 and Exodus 28: 6

July 2019

Sunday 28th July 2019 – Morning

Theme: Lord’s Prayer 3 – Give us this day our daily bread.

Scripture Readings: Proverbs 30: 1 and Acts 19: 23

June 2019

Sunday 30th June 2019 – Morning

Theme: Lord’s Prayer 2 – Thy Kingdom come Thy will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven.

Scripture Readings: Luke 13: 18 and Exodus 28: 1

Sunday 23rd June 2019 – Morning

Theme: Lord’s Prayer 1 – Our Father who art in Heaven, Hallowed be Thy name.

Scripture Readings: Matthew 6: 5-15 and Exodus 27: 20-21

Sunday 16th June 2019 – Evening

Theme: Following Jesus – The Homesick Life

Summer Communion

Scripture Readings: Micah 6: 1-8 and Matthew 8: 18-22

Sunday 16th June 2019 – Morning

Theme: Apostles Creed Conclusion

Scripture Readings: Philippians 4: 2-9 and Exodus 27: 9-19

Sunday 9th June 2019 – Morning

Theme: There is power, power, wonder working power

Rev Dr Harold MacConnell and the Church Choir

Scripture Readings: Joel 2: 25-32 and Acts 2: 1-13

Sunday 2nd June 2019 – Evening

Good Neighbour’s Service

Conducted by the Rev McKenzie (Cregagh Presbyterian), an interview with the Rev Ken Connor (Cregagh Methodist) and the Sermon preached by Major Graham Wood (Salvation Army). The praise is lead by the Salvation Army Band.

Scripture Reading: James 2: 14-26

Sunday 2nd June 2019 – Morning

Children’s Day Service

Rev Edward McKenzie, the Junior Choir and the Praise Band

Scripture Readings: Hebrews 10: 1-7 and Exodus 27: 1-8

May 2019

Sunday 26th May 2019 – Morning

Theme: Apostles Creed 12: And life everlasting

Scripture Readings: Daniel 12 and Acts 19: 1-2

Sunday 19th May 2019 – Evening

Theme: Apostles Creed 11: I believe in the Resurrection of the Body

Scripture Readings: 2 Corinthians 4 and Exodus 26

Sunday 19th May 2019 – Morning

Theme: Apostles Creed 10: I believe in the Forgiveness of Sins

Scripture Readings: Psalm 103 and Acts 18: 18-28

Sunday 12th May 2019 – Morning

Theme: Christian Aid Service with guest speaker Ruth Logan

Scripture Readings: 1st Samuel 2: 1-10 and James 1: 19-25

Sunday 5th May 2019 – Morning

Theme: Apostles Creed 9: The holy catholic church, the communion of saints

Scripture Readings: Psalm 102 and Acts 18: 1-17

April 2019

Easter Sunday 21st April 2019 – Morning

Theme: The Light of the Resurrection

Scripture Readings: Matthew 28: 1-10 and Exodus 25: 31-40

Palm Sunday 14th April 2019 – Evening

Theme: What does Easter mean to you?

Palm Sunday 14th April 2019 – Morning

Theme: Apostles Creed 8: I believe in the Holy Spirit
Palm Sunday Communion

Scripture Readings: John 14: 15-31 and Exodus 25: 23-30

Sunday 7th April 2019 – Morning

Apostles Creed 7: And will come again to judge the living and the dead

Scripture Readings: 2 Peter 3 and Exodus 25: 10-22

March 2019

Sunday 31st March 2019 – Morning

Mothering Sunday

Scripture Readings: Psalm 68: 1-19 and Acts 17: 16-34

Sunday 24th March 2019 – Morning

Sacrament of Baptism

Scripture Readings: Acts 2: 29-41 and Genesis 17: 1-13

Sunday 17th March 2019 – Morning

Theme: Apostles Creed 5: He descended to the dead. The third day he rose again

Scripture Readings: Jonah 2: and Acts 17: 10-15

Sunday 3rd March 2019 – Morning

Theme: Apostles Creed 2: And in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord

Scripture Readings: Psalm 72 and Acts 16: 16-40

February 2019

Sunday 24th February 2019 – Morning

World Thinking Day 2019

Scripture Readings: Isaiah 40: 21-31 and 1 John 1: 1-10

Sunday 17th February 2019 – Morning

Theme: Apostles Creed 1: I believe in God, the Father Almighty, Creator of heaven and earth

Scripture Readings: Hebrews 1 and Exodus 23: 20-33

Sunday 10th February 2019 – Morning

Theme: What does it mean to be a member of the church? – ‘Conclusion’

Scripture Readings: Colossians 1: 15-23 and Exodus 23: 14-19

Sunday 3rd February 2019 – Morning

Theme: What does it mean to be a member of the church? – ‘A person who is committed’

Scripture Readings: Luke 14: 25-35 and Exodus 23: 10-13

January 2019

Sunday 27th January 2019 – Morning

Theme: What does it mean to be a member of the church? – ‘A person who tells others about Jesus’

Scripture Readings: Psalm 66 and Acts 16: 11-15

Sunday 13th January 2019 – Morning

Contemporary Service – Mary Rose Gibson